Home / Home / 8 commissioners defect to PDP in Adamawa as 2 ex-lawmakers, others join APC in A’ Ibom

8 commissioners defect to PDP in Adamawa as 2 ex-lawmakers, others join APC in A’ Ibom

Image result for PDP logo

No fewer than eight commissioners, three members of the Adamawa State House of Assembly and some local government chairmen of the All Progressives Congress-led administration in the state have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Vanguard reports.

The newspaper said the defections were announced in the state capital Yola on Saturday, July 21 by the national chairman of the opposition party Uche Secondus at the grand rally for one of the party’s presidential aspirants, ex-vice president Atiku Abubakar.

According to Secondus, the defecting commissioners included Ibrahim Mijinyawa and Umar Daware.

Meanwhile, down south in Akwa Ibom, News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that APC national chairman Adams Oshiomhole received the two ex-members of House of Representatives, who defected from the PDP.

The former lawmakers are Bassey Etim and Esio Okwong who represented Uyo and Oron Federal Constituencies at the National Assembly between 2003 and 2007.

Oshiomhole also received more than 2,000 supporters of the lawmakers during the inauguration of Akwa Ibom party secretariat in Uyo.

He urged them to join the old members of the party and work to ensure that APC was victorious in the forthcoming 2019 general elections.

“You are all welcome to our great party. You will enjoy all rights and privileges as members of this party.

“You are expected to use your wealth of experience to ensure the success of All Progressives Congress come 2019,’’ he said.

About talkagblog


Check Also

Dozens of Hamas terrorists surrender to Israeli soldiers

Dozens of Hamas terrorists surrendered to Israeli forces Thursday in northern Gaza ...