Home / Uncategorized / Five Governorship Candidates Step Down For Sanwo-Olu

Five Governorship Candidates Step Down For Sanwo-Olu


Nine political parties under the Alliance of Registered Political Parties (ARPP) have declared support for the reelection of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu and Deputy Governor Obafemi Hamzat in Lagos.

Governorship candidates of five of the political parties in the ARPP also stepped down for Mr Sanwo-Olu ahead of Saturday’s gubernatorial election.

The political parties are the Young Progressives Party (YPP), Action Democratic Party (ADP), Action Peoples Party (APP), Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) and Allied Peoples Movement (APM). Others are the National Rescue Movement (NRM), the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP).

The five governorship candidates that stepped down for Mr Sanwo-Olu are Adeyemi Abiola of APP, Adenipebi Mode-Adekunle of ZLP, and Funmi Kupoluyi of APM. Others are Ishola Bamidele of ADP and Ajayi Adebayo of the YPP.

Addressing a news conference on Monday in Ikeja, Mr Adebayo, leader of ARPP, said, “We reached this decision sequel to our thorough analysis of all the good works and rapid development in Lagos state. We cannot sacrifice the various landmark achievements of the present administration scattered all over the state on the altar of bitter politicking.”

The event was attended by the governorship candidates and representatives of the nine political parties in the ARPP.

He said that Sanwo-Olu had delivered on his social contract with the people of Lagos through the THEMES mantra.

The ARPP leader mentioned that the group concluded that it has in Mr Sanwo-Olu a governor committed to taking Lagos to greater heights in the years ahead.

“Lagos state at a time like this is better entrusted in the hands of experienced and patriotic leaders. A vote for Sanwo-Olu will indeed be an endorsement for continuity and greater development,” noted Mr Adebayo. “This support is born out of love and desire for a greater Lagos state, which Sanwo-Olu has set the pace and deserves to drive it to fruition.”

The ARPP leader added, “We seize this opportunity to inform and urge all our supporters to vote massively on Saturday, March 18 for Babajide Sanwo-Olu as governor and his deputy, Quadri Obafemi Hamzat.”


About talkagblog


Check Also

Old Naira Notes Remain Legal Tender Till Dec 31 – Supreme Court

  The Supreme Court has ordered that the old N100, N200 and ...