Home / Events / Ogun PDP loses four lawmakers to APC and ADC

Ogun PDP loses four lawmakers to APC and ADC


Five members of the Ogun State House of Assembly have defected to three different parties.

The Speaker of the House, Mr. Suraj Adekunbi, read the separate letters of defection by the lawmakers during the plenary session in Abeokuta on Thursday.

Adekunbi said ”it was the first time the Assembly would be receiving such a high number of defection letters.”

He said the Assembly received only three of such defection letters in the last dispensation.

Reports say two of the lawmakers, Mrs Akintayo Folakemi and Mr. Ojo Viwanu defected from the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Jemili Akingbade and Atanda Razaq also left the PDP for the Africa Democratic Congress (ADC).

Mr. Harrison Adeyemi, however, defected from the APC to PDP.

Folakemi commended the ideology of her new party, APC and Governor Ibikunle Amosun for ensuring rapid development in the state.

“The major reason for my defection is for me to be part of the Ogun West for Governorship campaign.

 “I am an Ogun West person and whatever will make my people happy is what I will go for…Whatever is done that concerns Ogun West, I must be part of it,” she stated.

Folakemi stated that it was high time somebody from the zone became the governor of the state, adding that this had eluded the zone since the creation of the state 42 years ago.

Folakemi promised to continue to do her best in ensuring that the dividends of democracy got to the nook and crannies of her constituency.

Some of the PDP lawmakers who defected, hinged their decision on the crisis and division within the party at the state level.


About talkagblog


Check Also

Makinde dissolves Park Management committee headed by Auxillary

  Makinde dissolves Park Management committee headed by Auxillary Governor Seyi Makinde ...